Pastor Strode Pic

Rev. Dr. Robert A. Strode                         

Married to Shelby for 46 years (April 19, 1974)


46 years in the pastoral ministry:

Wayman Chapel A.M.E. Church, Georgetown, KY

St. Paul A.M.E. Church, Versailles, KY; New Tyler A.M.E. Church, Memphis, TN                                            

Warren Chapel A.M.E. Church, Chattanooga, TN, Presiding Elder of the Chattanooga District (acting by appointment)  St. John  A.M.E. Church, Frankfort, Ky. Youngs Chapel A.M. E. Church, Louisville, Ky. Presiding Elder of the Lexington District Kentucky Annual Conference, Pastor St. Paul AME Versailles, Ky.

Presently Pastor of  Historic St. Paul A.M.E. Church Lexington, KY



                                Henry Clay High School, Lexington, KY

                                Devry Institute of Technology, Chicago, IL (Electronics)

                                American Bible College, Pineland, FL

                                Kentucky State University, Frankfort, KY (B.A. History & Psychology)

                                Lexington Theological Seminary, Lexington, KY (Master’s of Divinity)

                                Lexington Theological Seminary, Lexington, Ky. (Doctor or Ministry)


                                 Secretary for the Kentucky Conference Board of Examiners (1977-1987)

                                 Dean of the West Tennessee Conference Board of Examiners (1987-1990)

                                 Chairman of the East Tennessee Conference Board of Examiners of the AME

                                 Church  (1990-1998)

                                 Dean of the Board of Examiners of the Kentucky Annual Conference, AME

                                 Church (2000-2010)

                                 Chair of  the Kentucky Annual Conference School of  the Prophets of AME Church


                                 Dean of the Board of Examiners of the West Kentucky Annual Conference, AME   

                                 Church (2010-2011)

                                 Delegate to The General Conference (1980-2004)

                                 Member of The Episcopal Committee (1996 and 2004 Vice-Chair of the Judiciary)

                                 Evangelical/Pastoral work for the KY Corrections Department



                                Kentucky Historical Society

                                Kentucky Council of Churches, Franklin Co.

                                Ministerial Association

                                American Bible Institute

                                National Historical Society

                                Lexington Theological Seminary Alumni Council


                               NAACP Woodford, Co.  Ky., Memphis, Tn., Chattanooga, Tn., Frankfort, Ky.

                               Volunteer Community School Board, Chattanooga, Tn.

                                Kings Center Board, Frankfort, KY

                                United Way Board Chattanooga, Tn.

                                Metropolitan Council Chattanooga, Tn.

                                Franklin County Public School Equity Commission

                                Chaplain for the Kentucky State General Assembly and many other boards during his                                            

                                tenure as a Pastor in Kentucky and Tennessee.     

                                YMCA Board

                                Former Chair of the Membership Committee, Downtown Frankfort Board

                                Kentucky State University Regional Stewardship Advisory Committee

                                Franklin County Drug Court Advisory Committee

                                Appointed by the Supreme Court of Kentucky to serve on the Board of Governors


                                Who’s Who in College and Universities

                                Academic Excellence Award

                                Pastor of the Year Award several times from the Young People Division

                                Of the Women’s Missionary Society of the A.M.E. Church

                                Racial harmony award from the City of Chattanooga

                                Recognized by Dr. Dennis Dickerson, Historiographer of the A.M.E. Church during                                    

                                the 1994 Institute in Philadelphia, PA

                                2002 Outstanding Board Member of Downtown Frankfort

                                Kentucky Colonel

                                The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr, Award, Frankfort, KY

                                Kings Center Distinguished Board Member Award, Frankfort, Ky.